Enterprise Onna accounts have access to an admin interface to manage their Onna instance.
The admin interface is where an Onna admin can go to:
- Add/delete users and modify permissions
- Manage what sources are available to that instance
- Add enterprise sources
- Add SSO or SAML to Onna
- Update configuration preferences
And more! This article covers some of the basics of the admin interface.
Click on the 'Admin panel' link to navigate to the Admin Dashboard.
This is the default page for the admin interface that gives an overview of the account. One of the first charts an admin will see is a summary of the account.
- Sources: Indicates the total number of sources within an Onna instance for all users
- Files: Indicates the total number of files across all users in Onna
- Total Space: This is the size of the account
- Users: Total number of users created in Onna
- Spyders: Defines the current number of running connections to sources
Admin Users for Enterprise Onna can manage user roles and add/delete users through the 'User Management' panel.
Note: User management is located under the Admin Panel in the Main Menu for quicker access as indicated below.
You'll see a list of existing users and their roles, represented in the following format:
- Name: Name in Onna. If a user hasn't changed their name in their profile this will display their email.
- ID: This is the email they use to log into the system
- Role: There are four types of user roles in Onna
- Special Permission: allows a user to perform actions their assigned role would normally not allow them to do
- User Groups: group of users that can share workspaces or sources
Enterprise Onna Roles are defined by permission levels:
- Account Holder - admin user that originally created the Onna account
- Admin - An Onna user with full permissions and accessibility to the admin dashboard.
- User - An Onna user with full permissions
- Guest - An Onna user that can only see files or sources that have been shared with them. This user cannot add data sources
Note: Enterprise Onna Roles are different from Workspace Roles.
To see more information on how to manage users visit our user management guide.
Managing Integrations on Onna
Enabling A Source
Companies can also decide which integrations users can add to Onna through the admin dashboard. To do so, head to the 'Admin preferences' tab on the menu.
Now head to the Sources tab on the menu and expand 'Enabled sources'
This page shows all integrations available on Onna. If the checkbox beside it is selected, the integration is available for users to add to the platform. To remove an integration simply uncheck the toggle. This will remove it as an option on the user dashboard.
Enabling an Enterprise Source
Enterprise sources are integrations that have been built to access a company's entire account through the admin's credentials. The enterprise sources that we currently offer are:
- Dropbox Business
- Google Suite
- Microsoft Outlook for Microsoft 365 accounts (using their Microsoft Graph API)
- Quip Enterprise
- Slack Enterprise
To view the enterprise sources expand 'Enabled Enterprise sources':
Just like the 'Enabled sources' panel enterprise sources can be enabled or disabled by clicking the toggle.
Dropbox Business, Slack Enterprise, & G Suite can be added normally through the 'My Sources' menu. For Microsoft 365 , click on the 'Admin Panel' link to the left and navigate to Enterprise sources.
Setup instructions for each of these integrations are available in our Integrations support page.
Opening the 'Sources configuration' panel gives you two options for source synchronization options:
- Auto-sync only - sources will no longer auto-sync and archive
- Mirror Slack Enterprise retention settings - messages that are removed from Slack due to a retention policy will also be removed from Onna
Adding Retention Policies
Retention policies can be set within Onna as well. This feature does not mirror the retention policies within the source, it is its own Onna-specific retention policy. These source specific rules delete files in Onna after a set time expires. To add a new retention policy click on the 'Add new policy' button:
Next choose which source you want to delete from and what time you want to set for the policy. You can choose from any enabled source and the times range from one month to five years:
After the policy is set you can add more or edit and delete existing ones.
Note: Source files within a legal hold will not be deleted despite the retention policy. Retention policy dates are related to the date that the information was added to Onna and not when the original file was created.
Onna Configuration Preferences
Additional configuration settings are available through the 'Admin preferences' page by clicking on the 'Configuration' tab:
Expanding the 'Advanced Configuration' panel displays the following options that can be toggled on and off by clicking the checkbox:
- Do not notify synced sources - disable email notifications when source sync completes
- External sharing - allows sharing of sources and files to users outside of Onna. External users initially have an overall guest role but can be updated later in user management.
Advanced functionalities are still in development and are considered in the beta stage. Expanding the 'Advanced functionalities' panel displays the following options that can be toggled on and off by clicking the checkbox:
- Advanced search - allows searching on specific fields and executing more complex queries
- Contract detection - machine learning function that detects if a document is considered a contract
- Legal hold - retains information that would otherwise be removed from Onna due to mirror syncs and retention policies
- Smart alerts - allows you to send notifications or label documents any time you get a match for a search criteria
- Versioning - sets up file versioning that creates a history of changes made to files
- Tags - can tag sources, workspaces and files with key words
- Custom fields - create custom fields that can be applied to workspaces and files
Clicking on the two-step verification panel provides an option to turn this security measure on. Enabling this will require your Onna users to use two-step verification to access the platform.