Retention policies can be set for each type of integration in Onna. These retention policies are set globally at an account level through options only available to admins on an account.

This feature does not mirror the retention policies within the source, it is its own Onna-specific retention policy. These source specific rules delete files in Onna after a set time expires. Retention policy dates are related to the date that the information was added to Onna and not when the original file was created. To add a new retention policy navigate to 'Admin Preferences'

From the Admin Preferences page click on the 'Sources' tab and select the dropdown for Retention Policies. You will now have the option to create a new retention policy by clicking on 'Add new policy'.

Next choose which source you want to delete from and what time you want to set the policy. You can choose from any enabled source and the time range from one month to five years:

After you have set the policy click on the arrow to the right of the policy to confirm and save the changes.

After the policy is set you can create additional retention policies for other data source type or edit and delete existing ones. As an admin you cannot create 2 different retention policies for the same data source type.

Note:
Source files within a legal hold will not be deleted despite the retention policy.
Legal hold will always win over the retention policy, which means that if a resource is on hold it cannot be deleted by the retention policy. 

FAQ

What types of sync mode does the retention policy work with?
The retention policy will work with all sync modes: one time sync, auto sync and archive.

What happens to the children of a file impacted by a retention policy?
If the file has children (attachment, image, etc…) Onna will not separate them. The children will be deleted only when the parent is.

Did this answer your question?