When you connect your applications and create your collections, you can choose how Onna collects and stores your data. Onna supports three default sync modes. You can find more information by visiting our articles on how to connect specific applications.

Advanced sync options that override the default sync modes of each application are also available from the admin preferences area. For example, you can set Onna to mirror Slack retention policies. In this article, aside from the the explanation of the various sync modes, you can find clarification about the difference between versioning and archiving, an explanation of how sync ranges affect the data synced in your collection, and a comparison table for a more visual breakdown of all the information.

The three default sync modes are:

One-time sync

One-time sync is ideal when you only need a snapshot of your data at a specific moment. With this sync mode, Onna connects to your application and collects the data available at that moment within the date range you choose. If you don’t choose any, Onna will collect all data available.

However, after that, Onna won’t monitor your application for new or changed data. When data is added, changed, or deleted from your application, Onna won’t reflect that, unless you run another one-time sync, which also implies processing all the data again.

One-time sync keeps your Onna data usage low, as the size of your collection won’t increase after the sync as it does with other sync types. However, with this option updating your data will require another full sync.

Auto-sync

With the auto-sync mode, Onna connects to your application and collects the data available at that moment, starting from the date you choose. If you don’t choose any, Onna will collect all data available, then will keep monitoring your application for new or changed data and sync at regular intervals of 20-30 minutes.

This mode always reflects the most recent status of your data. This means that, when records are added, changed, or deleted from your application, the same happens in Onna.

Note: Auto-sync reflects your retention policies. When records are deleted from your application because of their retention period expired, they are also deleted from Onna.

This sync mode is useful for longer or ongoing matters, where records have higher chances of changing over time. Changes are synced incrementally, which reduces the time to complete each sync and the amount of data processed each time. This also means that the most recent data becomes available faster in Onna.


Auto-sync and archive

With the auto-sync and archive mode, Onna connects to your application and collects the data available at that moment, starting from the date you choose. If you don’t choose any, Onna will collect all data available, then will keep monitoring your application for new or changed data and sync at regular intervals of 20-30 minutes.

This mode always reflects the most recent status of your data, but Onna stores a copy of deleted records. This means that, when records are added or changed in your application, the same happens in Onna. However, when records are deleted from the application, the last version before they got deleted remains available in Onna.

Like with the auto-sync mode, choose this mode when you want faster access to the most recent data and at the same time ensure that you still keep a copy of deleted records. When you use this mode, you can apply a shorter retention period to the data in your application, because a copy is always kept in Onna. For example, you can use this sync mode to store data that you want to keep from an application that your organization is about to decommission.

Tracking deletions adapts to how each application is built. For this reason, the way Onna displays deleted records varies from application to application.

File versioning vs archiving

If you know our file versioning feature, you may be wondering whether it can replace the auto-sync and archive mode. We consider them complementary features. Here’s why:

The main difference is that file versioning allows you to see various versions of the same record that are collected from the moment you enable the feature. Auto-sync and archive ensures that a copy of deleted records is kept in Onna, but only shows the most recent version of such records. For example, if a record is deleted from your application, Onna will store only the last version available before it was deleted.

Note: Versions of a record start to be collected when you enable file versioning. Until you enable file versioning, you will always see the most recent version of the file, even if you selected the auto-sync and archive mode for your collection.

Another difference between the two is that file versioning is only available for our Enterprise plan, while the auto-sync and archive mode is available for any pricing plan.

The other difference lies in their scope. File versioning applies to all your applications and active collections, while the auto-sync and archive mode applies to only a specific collection.

If you want to keep a copy of your deleted files but also track all the changes made to them, you must enable both file versioning and create a collection selecting auto-sync and archive. When tracking changes within a specific date range, remember that only changes that took place within the range can be tracked.

Note: Some applications, like Slack Enterprise or Quip Enterprise, allow you to see a full record of the changes even if you haven't enabled file versioning. However, that does not depend on Onna, but on the change tracking feature being enabled in your application. For further information, check the application's specific documentation.


Finally, another difference resides in how deleted records are handled. With file versioning enabled, if a record is deleted from your application, it will also be deleted from Onna at the next sync. The auto-sync and archive mode will instead keep records even if they’re deleted from your application.

Versioning adapts to how each application is built. For this reason, the way Onna displays the changes made to records varies from application to application.

Sync modes and sync date ranges

Depending on the sync mode that you choose, you can set a date range of the data records to sync when creating a collection. If you leave the sync date blank, Onna will sync all the data available.

When you do so, consider that Onna can only sync records that are available in your application. If the sync date range you set in Onna exceeds the date range of the retention policy set in your application, Onna won’t be able to sync records that are outside such range.

FAQ

Are all sync modes available for each source type in Onna?

This is dependent on the source type. Please refer to the source specific documentation on the supported sync modes.

Did this answer your question?